Sunset District Asian Fusion

I love Chinese food.  I am especially a fan of places labeled  “Asian Fusion” and this is one of those.  Asian Fusion places usually offered a variety of Asian foods options.  This place – Nan King Road Bistro – has Chinese and Thai food.  Nan King Road Bistro is located in the “Sunset District” near the Golden Gate Park in San Francisco, CA.

nanking1 nanking2

We ordered a bottle of wine, which was from the year 2009.  Not bad considering most bottle of wines that I buy these days are 2013/2014.  But just because a wine is older does not mean it is necessarily better.  You actually have to do some research about the year and the area in which the grapes come from.  In my case, 2009 was a great year for California grapes.  However, my taste buds did not need that research to tell that the wine was strong and delightful.

Image

These puppies below are like HEAVEN in your mouth.  I am a sucker for wontons.  They are my go-to appetizer at Chinese restaurants, but the problem is finding delicious melt-in-your-mouth wontons.  Out of all the crab-cheese wontons that I have had, these are tied for first.  The other place in which you can find amazing wontons is at 888 Pan Asian Restaurant in Austin, Texas.

Image

On to the main course: The Sesame Chicken. As the menu states, this is made with caramelized soy.  You can definitely tell that something is caramelized in this dish once you attempt to grab a piece with your fork.  There is a thick, sticky syrup allover and underneath that fried chicken.  This syrup-like sauce is not flavorless by any means!! It is actually quite delicious!  My one critique is that it is sooooo soooo sweet!  It is nearly a dessert!! It needs more savory-ness added to the dish.  The best part of this dish is the crunchiness.  It is much more crunchy than your normal sesame chicken, which I loved!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Service: I had no issues with service.  Very prompt.

Overall rating: lstarlstarlstarstarhalf2  3.5/5 stars

Nan King Road Bistro
1360 9th Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94122
(415) 753-2900
http://nankingroadbistro.net/

 

Leave a comment